Sonic and scenic constructor, working with sound, stage and film, approaching within his work elements of pre-language, generative choirs, acoustic animism, echo and recursivity, gestual percussion and intra-cranial-dub.

Working in the interception of live-dubbing, electroacoustics, percussive sounds, visceral voice and wind instruments within the acoustic, physical and mental proprieties of time. Deeply interested in non western music systems, he started to study Tabla in 1999 playing in the Hindustani music ensemble Jugalbandi.

Since 2010 he composed a series of pieces for voice, electronic and resonant space: TEUFEL RADAR, choir and antena; KHŌROS ANIMA, choir, sub-bass, industrial space; SANCTA VISCERA TUA, gesture, light, percussion, termites and choir; SILVO UMBRA choir, light and spheric space.

He is part of FUJAKO duo, mentor of the ensemble HHY & The Macumbas, founder of SOOPA collective and co-founder of SILORUMOR label. He is co-creator of the sound-theatre pieces NYARLATHOTEP, REI TRILOGY, DEL, JUNGLE MACHINE and OXIDATION MACHINE presented in venues like Serralves Museum, Accès(s) Festival and Rivoli TMP.

Saldanha has collaborated and performed with: Luxúria Canibal, Adrian Sherwood, Arthur Doyle, Benjamin Brejon, Raz Mesinai, Carlos Zíngaro, Catarina Miranda, Filipe Silva, Franklin Pereira, Frederic Alstadt, Gustavo Costa, Jessika Kenney, João Pais Filipe, Mark Stewart, Nyko Esterle, Regina de Miguel, Scott Nydegger, Steve Mackay, among others.

Performed at the festivals: Sónar, Primavera Sound, Amplifest, Out.Fest, Circular, Milhões de Festa, Neopop, Tapettefest and Elevate. On tour he played at Ancienne Belgique (Brussels), Berghain Kantine (Berlin), Stubnitz (Hamburg), Filmer la Musique (Paris) and Issue Project Room (New York).

With music released under the labels SOOPA, Ångström Records, Wordsound, Silo Rumor, Rotorelief and Tzadik.

BOOKING  — contact (at) silorumor.com

15 Questions
The Quietus



Fujako “EXOBELL” [Ångström Records 12″”vinyl, 2015]
Fujako “Soul Buzz” [Ångström Records 10″”vinyl, 2014]
HHY & The Macumbas: Throat Permission Cut [SILO 12″”vinyl, 2014]
Fujako “Landform Erosion” [Rotorelief 12”vinyl, 2012]
Doyle/Saldanha/Silva/Costa: FivePoemsForTheSwampGhost [12″”vinyl, 2012]
U.S.S.: Machine Gun [Soopa/Radon CD and 7″” vinyl, 2011]
Ç.K.P. [Faca Monstro 10″” vinyl, 2011]
Jonathan Uliel Saldanha: The Earth As A Floating Egg [Soopa CD, 2010]
Besta Bode: HEXACOSIOIHEXECONTAHEXAFOBIA [Soopa 7″” vinyl, 2010]
Legba – HHY & The Macumbas [Wire Tapper CD, 2011]
HHY & The Macumbas: Legba/Houmfort [Soopa 7″” vinyl, 2010]
Fujako: Landforms [Wordsound Digital, 2009 & Ångström Records, double 12″”vinyl, 2012]
Badawi/Raz Mesinai: Unit of Resistance [CD & vinyl on ROIR, 2007-2009]
F.R.I.C.S.: Abraço Vivo [CD Soopa, 2007]

Listen to Skull Cave Echo radio series at Rádio Quantica
Quantica Mixcloud